Fucking PC Gaming

12 Jun

Rather than devoting an individual post to every damn thing I’ve written elsewhere – a system just narcissistic enough to make me feel uneasy – I was thinking I’d slip in some links whenever I have something unrelated to say. Here’s a bit about Tag, the inspiration for Portal 2’s speed-inducing and bounce-ifying paints, and my review of Men of War: Assault Squad. Go, smear my letters and punctuation all over your face and chest.

I was also working on a pointlessly long and embarrassingly overwritten rant (for this blog, not GD, which could do without my casual use of the term “dickbags”) on the meekly manufactured ‘war’ supposedly being fought between EA’s Battlefield 3 and Activision’s Modern Warfare 3. Instead, here’s an abridged version: both games will, in all likelihood, end up as pretty good (if mostly brown) shooters, neither will be exemplary and neither will kill the other off, critically or commercially. They’re in direct competition, sure, but the snide and joyless bickering between supporters of each (be they players or executives) is suffocating the sense of fun and excitement I felt for both in the immediate aftermath of this year’s E3.

Perhaps, above all else, I’m simply nostalgic for a time – less than a decade ago, in fact – where developers would slip in giant posters of competitor’s games into their own, rather than sitting quietly while everyone else bitched. I’m glad to see at least one man involved attempting to exert a kind of moderating influence, though on a site like Reddit he might as well be sat on a beach, politely asking if the tide wouldn’t mind turning back a wee bit.

Leave a Reply

