Quick word about the student fees protest

11 Nov

Sigh. I mean, really, guys. Jumping on tables? Are you eight? Spray-painting walls? Are you Bart fucking Simpson? Kicking in windows? Is the new fee system supported by returns on long-term investments in glass?

I didn't go, but if I did my sign would have read something like this.

Even if it’s a tiny minority (I know this because, contrary to pre-emptive moaning on Facebook, the press is aware that most of the event was peaceful and has reported accordingly), they’ve let the side down. I don’t want these idiots representing me as a student, and it’s hard to fathom why anyone else would. I sure as hell don’t want to pay £9,000 a year to study, but thanks to their staggeringly moronic willingness to descend into violence, I look at them with an all-consuming disgust I can’t even muster for the blokes in suits that want to charge me that much in the first place.

Just as bad – if not worse – are the people I know first-hand not to be utter thundertwats, yet flip-flop around the fact that their fellow protestors have acted like a small clan of brick-lobbing degenerates because they share more or less the same ultimate goal. It saddens me, genuinely, that people I know and like look at this sort of behaviour and say either “It happens” or “I can sort of see where they’re coming from” rather than something along the lines of “Woah, I thought I just walked into a fucking cave during a fight over the last piece of wooly mammoth fillet”. I’m not angry with them, though. Just disappointed.

Leave a Reply

